girls

I just watched Girls’ Trip, so that may or may not inform everything I’m about to say. But I think it’s also safe to say I’ve been thinking this for awhile and the movie has just further solidified my thoughts. So here goes.

Female friendships are important.

That’s pretty much it.

I realize that while I have a decent amount of friends who are female, I don’t really have a group of girls, if you get what I mean. Most of my friend groups are equal mixes, and there’s nothing wrong with that, because I love and appreciate my male friends also. But sometimes I think, wow, wouldn’t it be nice to take a trip or hang out with just my female friends and talk and laugh and not have to censor ourselves? I really wish I knew what that felt like.

The female friends I do have are great. They’re special people. But I don’t think I’ve had one female-only hangout with my close female friends in a long ass time. And one where we didn’t whinge about someone’s boyfriend or talk about someone’s boyfriend or bring up a boyfriend? Years, maybe. We’d fail the Bechdel test every single time.

But then what would we talk about, what would we say to each other if we didn’t have a boyfriend to complain about?

Um. I don’t know, maybe the rest of our lives? Do any of us even read anymore? Maybe we’d talk about books. There’s a book I really want to start reading (two actually: In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware and Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan) and I’m not sure if any of my friends have read them, or if they’ve heard of them. It’d be cool to see a movie or something too. Or maybe even just hang out at a park. Get wine and drink under a tree. Hang out doing who-knows-what. Watch a show together. Maybe we’d all agree to get into a new show and watch it together every week. Or we could do weekly bar hops. I don’t know; it doesn’t matter what it is, just as long as it’s just us girls.

Like what do any of my female friends even like? What are their passions? What are their interests? What are their vices? Save for a few friends, I can’t really say. I have no idea and that may be 50% on me for not asking or not being in a position to know. But I do want to know. I really do want that type of closeness with other girls because I think it’s important mentally and emotionally.

I will add this to my wish book. I want a crew of really legit girls who want to conquer the world or are on a quest to feel comfortable in their own skin. I want female friends who are just living life and have goals and dreams that may or may not come true but that doesn’t matter because the act of going for them is more important.

Anyway, go watch Girls Trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

