‘yes, I am’

This is a short drabble I wrote last year on my birthday on my old blog. I think I might start porting some of these over because I really like them. Title from the ONE OK ROCK song of the same name.

*

‘where are you going to?’

she didn’t know. I mean, a lot of places seemed within reach then. where she could go and where she wanted to go weren’t always the same as where she thought of going and where she ended up. where she ended up could’ve been where she could go but not always where she wanted — and in the past, she had dealt with that sort of disappointment before.

but today was not about disappointment. she was riding high on the wings of triumph.

she would be the first to tell you that everything will be okay.

‘I don’t know,’ she said, and she smiled, because that’s what she did best.

‘what about here?’

and she thought long and hard about it; and she wrinkled her nose and furrowed her brow; and she waited until the idea settled into her mind, finding its way to a quiet corner. at a time, she would have let him sit there, but she had no room any longer for visitors.

‘I don’t know,’ she said again, ‘and I don’t think so.’

Leave a Reply

